Milk and Cigarettes

Rambles about stuff I like.

Prog Greats

This blog is pretty loosey-goosey. There’s no defined purpose or category. I’m just going to write about whatever the hell I want to write about.

Why do this? Well, for starters, I want to get in the habit of writing everyday. If I have another blog devoted to a specific topic, and I don’t have any ideas about that particular topic, then it’s tough to write good stuff that day. Thus, this blog serves as a method to get myself writing and not worry too much about content.

Well, if I’m not worried about content, what am I going to write about? Hmm…

I ‘unno…I’m currently listening to King Crimson’s live album, The Great Deceiver. It’s terrific. There’s no better rock and roll combo when it comes to sustained, frenetic sonic assaults. Maybe The Mars Volta – they’re both phenomenal prog rock bands. Of course, I’m only counting KC before the 1980’s – I’m not as thrilled with their stuff after the 80’s as I am with their work in the 70’s. Especially the three monsters: Larks’ Tongue in Aspic, Starless and Bible Black and Red. Anyone who’s familiar with KC only through 21st Century Schizoid Man needs to do some listening.

It’s funny, Pink Floyd always gets credit for being the best prog rock band out there, but they can’t really compare to King Crimson. Pink Floyd, however, probably have the greatest album as a whole in Dark Side of the Moon. I don’t know what else to say about “Dark Side” that hasn’t already been said. It’s easily Pink Floyd’s greatest work, and deserves to be listened to as an album rather than as cuts on classic rock radio stations.

I suppose for me, as I (used to) play drums, it’s the quality of the drummer that makes the band great. King Crimson and Mars Volta always have crazy good drummers – which is probably why I like them so much. But as I have a tendency to sing in a piercing falsetto, I most prefer the singing of Mars Volta. Some of those high notes can be unbelievably dramatic, passionate, angry, soulful… there’s a lot in there.

Anyhoo, that’s my first post. I suppose it’s about music but really it’s about me writing. 

February 25, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

