Milk and Cigarettes

Rambles about stuff I like.

The Ricky Gervais Show – did I do one about this before?

Writing again just to write.

The thing about writing is, it’s better to write crap everyday than it is to write something brilliant once a month. We all learn by doing – and so it’s inevitable that I’ll become better at writing if I just force myself to write everyday. Like Paul McLean says, consistency is something we’re all looking for.

Anyhoo, it’s a blog post about nothing. Which is very similar to listening to a Karl Pilkington podcat (or the Ricky Gervais show.) I like listening to the Ricky Gervais show on my headphones while I play videogames. Why? Well, I generally play sports video games, so the sound doesn’t add a whole hell of a lot. Plus, it seems easy to me to listen to one thing while watching something else. Must be my crazy sound/touch synaesthesia.

Point is, Karl Pilkington is quite possibly either the dumbest genius or the smartest retard I’ve ever listened to. Some of the things he comes up with…

For example, Ricky and Steve (Merchant) were asking Karl what he would do if he ever met his doppleganger. (A doppleganger is one’s double.) Karl replied, “How would I know which one I was?”

That’s either mental or brilliant. Probably mental. Karl’s thinking that if he ever ran in to someone who looked exactly like he did, he think he’d have trouble remembering who he is. Maybe – it’s sort of hard to tell what Karl is really getting at. He has a mumbley way of speaking – and everything is sort of understated. It boggles the mind some of the things he comes up with.

Of course, the best part of the Ricky Gervais show is hearing Gervais laugh hysterically whenever Karl says something stupid. Which is often. Gervais goes from his normal speaking voice – a lower class English baritone – to high pitch squeals in an instant.

Steve Merchant usually acts as the straight man for Ricky, but he gets in a ton of brilliant lines as well. Something about his voice – now a posh English accent – and his sense of timing.

Gervais and Merchant are well suited together as a comedy duo. They can play off each other – throw things back and forth – if there’s riffing going on, they generally know where the other person is going with it. I wish there was another season of the RG show, as I could just listen to these three go back and forth for hours.

Gervais – I know you read this blog – fervishly hitting F5 throughout your working day. Tell ya what, if you make another season of the RG show, I’ll start updating this thing daily.

Deal? Deal.

June 3, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

