Milk and Cigarettes

Rambles about stuff I like.

A ramble about stuff and things

Welp, I figure I’ll have to make a separate blog for my manosphere stuff. I’ll probably create a blog devoted to goals for men – so not only can I devote a blog towards goals and self-improvement, I can also tackle weighty manosphere issues as well. Yeah, that’s what I’ll do.

That’ll probably happen after Saturday. This upcoming Saturday is the final exam for the class I’m teaching. I have one final class today which will be a review of all the stuff we’ve covered. Then a final bank of office hours on Thursday and the final on Saturday. I’ve only got 11 students writing the exam, so I should have all the marks done by Sunday evening. (I’m not used to getting up before 10:00am, and the exam is at 9:00am. So I imagine I’ll be taking a mighty nap once the exam is over – not to mention Saturday is my cheat day! Looking forward to eating some cookies and milk.)

Anyhoo… what else is going on? Haven’t been watching any new TV lately, just grinding through all the old Simpsons episodes. Oh, though I just remembered that I’m 2 seasons behind on Top Gear – so I’ll probably start getting caught up with those tonight.

Top Gear is a fabulous show – I don’t care what the BBC panel shows say. I love Jezza, Hamster and especially James May. Any sort of road challenge the boys do is always good watching. I will say, the worst part of the show is the celebrity interview – guh, I don’t really care what any of the celebrities have to say. Just do your lap, promote whatever you’re hear to promote and get back to racing super cars already!

Aside from EA NHL which I play on a daily basis, I haven’t really been playing any new video games either. I spend too much time every day working on my goals, then when I’m done work, I mostly surf the web aimlessly for a bit and watch Simpsons before I go to bed.

Although I have been playing an hour of Rome: Total War every night. That game is hella fun, but it takes FOR EVER to complete one game. This current game I’m playing I’ve sunk 12 or 13 hours into it, and I’m still nowhere near completed. (Although, to be fair, I do play the game when I’m stoned, so my decision making isn’t as lightning quick as it could be.)

As for books, I’m currently reading Midnight’s Children by Rushdie. It’s been very entertaining so far – Rushdie has a very unique way of writing, at least in this book – and the way he cuts between imagery and narrative is very intriguing to me. One must pay close attention to how he words things to understand what’s going on.

Now, ordinarily with most novels I either read them all in one go, or read a bunch until I get bored and then never pick it up again. But I’ve folded in reading into my daily goals, so every day one of my goals is to spend 15 minutes reading my book. This has been quite a success for me. I haven’t missed a day of reading, and by spending only 15 minutes reading, I always leave myself interested for next time.

It’s like I say with goals; just do a little each day. When it comes to goals, too many people want to go from zero to badass overnight. They say, “starting tomorrow: i’m going to study 4 hours a day, eat nothing but broccoli and steak, go to bed at 8:00pm, get up at 4:00am, work out for 2 hours and not waste time on the internet!” Of course, man is resistant to change – and too much change too fast is overwhelming, and doesn’t lead to lasting change. The best way to change your life is a little at a time.

Inch by inch, anything is a cinch.

Man – cinch. That’s short for “lead pipe cinch” – which is so far removed from my daily experience that I have no idea what it’s supposed to be. I assume it’s some sort of plumbing fastener that is either super strong, or super easy to use. Funny how slang evolves.

Anyhoo, that’s today’s ramble!

August 13, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

