Milk and Cigarettes

Rambles about stuff I like.

Stephen Harper and his pants-shittingly bad cannabis logic

When you’re writers blocked…

So I saw a report on tv awhile back about how Stephen Harper is against legalization of cannabis because if weed were legal, it would find it’s way into the hands of children.

What dumb fucking logic is that!? We don’t want this substance getting into the hands of our kids, so we’ll relinquish complete control of the distribution. 

Logically, the more control the government has over a substance, the more controls they can put on said substance, and thus the harder it would be for kids to get access. (Don’t be fooled, kids will still get access – except now it’s going to be just a smidge harder than before.)

Currently, the sale of cannabis is done through a black market. The only control mechanism the government has on this substance is that it’s prohibited. (As we’ve seen in the states in the late 20’s, prohibition doesn’t work.)

If the Harper government were serious about keeping cannabis out of the hands of kids, they should immediately legalize and place serious restrictions on who can buy cannabis. If they leave the sale of cannabis to the black market, then there’s certainly no restriction as to whether or not a kid can buy weed. If I’m a drug dealer and some 13 year old hands me $20 for a dime bag, well he gets a dime bag. ‘Cause $20 is $20.

If weed is legal, however, and I’m a certified cannabis salesman and some 13 year old wants to buy weed, well then I’m certainly going to pay much more attention to the penalties of selling weed to a minor. Similar to alcohol and tobacco now, if a retailer sells these substances to a minor, he’s hit with a heavy fine and could possibly lose the right to sell said substances.

Why does the government think a hands off approach is going to work? Why don’t they take this view with cigarettes, for example? (Answer: Because it obviously doesn’t fucking work and they know this.)

The government needs to end prohibition, eliminate the cannabis black market, reduce gang violence and welcome the BILLIONS in new revenue. 

With my few remaining minutes, I’ll talk about ME! And what’s new in my life.

I just bought a (music) keyboard today. I plan on learning how to play piano over the next… couple years. I dunno how long it’ll take to learn how to play piano – but since I’ve already played flute, saxophone, tuba, baritone and the drums, I figure it’ll be a short learning curve for me.

Oh yeah – school starts in earnest tomorrow. I’m looking forward to hitting on all the new 18 year olds in their sexy yoga pants.

September 2, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

