Milk and Cigarettes

Rambles about stuff I like.

Naps and the continuing struggles of the Get Up Early Initiative

Why are naps so awesome?

Why is it that I can be so tired during the day, then take a nap for an hour – and aside from the immediate post-nap grogginess, I feel a million times better afterwards.

I thought sleep was all about REM and the amount of REM one gets is directly tied to how refreshed they feel in the morning. This is why the polyphasic sleep schedule works, because you go right into REM sleep and end up getting more REM sleep on average.

(For the uninitiated, the polyphasic sleep schedule is one where you go to sleep for 20 minutes every 4 hours. I’ve always wanted to try it, but I’d need a good two week block in order to reorient my sleep schedule.)

The reason I point this out is because today, as you have guessed, I was very tired when I woke up and took a nap around 2:30. When I woke up at 3:30, about 15 minutes later after the post-nap grogginess wore off, I was feeling much more refreshed. (That should read, I AM feeling more refreshed, since all this happened a little while ago.) But I didn’t dream of anything during my nap.

Today was a perfect day for a nap too. It’s grey and rainy out, 18 degrees out – which isn’t really cold, but is relatively cold for what should be a summer’s day. When I started my nap at 2:30, there were no wiener kids yelling about in the street… Nice breeze coming through my windows. Blankie over my feet… Nap city. It was awesome.

And why was I so tired, I hear no one asking but myself and my solipsism? Well, I didn’t even turn out the lights last night until 10:30pm. Then due to onset insomnia, I didn’t fall asleep until after 11:30pm – probably closer to 12:00. My alarm went off at 6:00am – and this would’ve been about the 3rd or 4th straight day with only about 6 solid hours of sleep. Add on top of that an intense lifting session at the gym yesterday, and there’s no doubt as to why I was so tired this morning.

That’s the problem with the Get Up Early Initiative, you can’t be farting around on the internet past your bedtime. The G.U.E.I. requires iron-willed self-discipline in order to get to bed on time every night so you can rise with the dawn. If you “rack-a disc-i-prine”, then you’ll either be tired all day, or you’ll hit snooze a bunch of times and get up at 8:00.

What I’m worried about now, is that as I took a nap today, I wont be tired enough come bedtime, and I’ll stay up to midnight again! Causing me to be tired tomorrow morning when I get up at 6:00 – requiring another nap during the day and then I’m caught in this vicious cycle!

Well, I’m going to see what I can do to stop that tonight. I’ll turn off my computer at 9:30, hop into bed (maybe surreptitiously smoke a doober) and try to get to sleep for 10:00. Man, if I could get 8 hours of sleep on the reg I would be so happy…

In other news, NHL14 gets wide release today! I’ll probably pick it up tomorrow, seeing as how I’m not doing much of anything for the rest of today. Man, hockey’s gonna start up at the end of this month and then we’ll be blessed with the awesome fall sports madness of combined NFL football and NHL hockey! It’s going to be glorious!

September 10, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

