Milk and Cigarettes

Rambles about stuff I like.

Getting back up to speed. A ramble about David Tennant and stuff.

Well, lemme tell ya. After a three week break, it’s sorta hard to get back into the swing of things. Before the break, I was up as soon as my alarm went off and got straight to work, easily able to resist the lure of the internet. But to get back to that level of productivity and zeal seems to be challenging so far. I’ll get up in the morning, then get my coffee… then just take a peek at reddit, just to see what’s up. Aaaaaaand then I decide it’s time to take the day off. Yikes. I’m hoping a nice weekend of doing nothing will recharge my batteries.

Anyhoo, I’ve sorta got no shows to watch at the moment. I’m two episodes into Broadchurch, and I might pick that up again. It’s pretty good – murder mystery type show with a season long story arc. David Tennant plays a world weary detective inspector (DI) who was mysteriously banished from his previous position, and is now heading up the investigation of the murder. Some British lady plays Tennant’s sidekick – but is emotionally involved in the investigation, because she knows the family of the victim. So far, it seems a bit like House of Cards, in that everyone’s got their own secrets and angles. There’s also a bit of intrigue with the press and how they’re going to spin things.

So why aren’t I watching it now? Well, for starters, everyone speaks with a thick, English accent (except for Tennant who speaks with a thick, Scottish accent) and I really have to pay attention if I’m to understand exactly what’s going on. And generally, I’ve got the TV on in the background while I’m playing video games or doing other stuff. Needless to say, this isn’t one of those shows that can be absorbed half-heartedly. You’ve gotta pay damn close attention to make sure you don’t miss anything.

Anyhoo, after checking Tennant’s IMDB page, I see he was in Harry Potter. Whaaaa? Really? I don’t remember that…

Apparently he played “Barty” Crouch Junior. No idea who that is. It’s been so long since I’ve seen all the Harry Potters. Is that the one with the tri-city magic tournament and Harry kills the Twilight vampire? I don’t remember a dour, Scottish fellow glooming all over the place. Then again… all the Harry Potters are a bit of a mish mash. Is that the same one with the time-traveling? And where he fights a dragon or something? I’m sure I could find my answer with a minute of Googling… but whatevs.

I’m installing Empire: Total War at the moment, although I think I’ll probably just end up playing Rome: Total War. I wouldn’t mind downloading some mods for that one, though. I lose track of all my generals and such fairly quickly… meh, yeah. That’s what I’ll do, Rome: Total War for the rest of the day.

After all, today IS a day off, since I said so. I think my best strategy for getting back on the horse is to take little steps. Just get back to doing little things every day and then increase the amount of little things I do. Inch by inch, anything’s a cinch.

 

October 11, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

