Milk and Cigarettes

Rambles about stuff I like.

Your feelings follow your actions, so take action!

Man O’ man. I don’t get my brain sometimes. Yesterday I woke up bright and early at around 6:00am, went to the gym during the day, didn’t nap, and went to bed at 9:00pm. But my brain thought it appropriate to roll around for an hour, then wake up 2 hours after that and not fall back asleep for awhile. I still managed to wake up at 5:00 today, but maaaan am I sleepy. Even this 3rd cup of coffee doesn’t appear to be helping.

Oh well… The bright side is that I know for sure I’ll be able to fall asleep easily tonight! However, this blog post may be somewhat… disjointed.

Guh. It’s super windy and rainy out… The sun isn’t even up yet. 

Anyhoo, let me talk a bit about going to the gym yesterday. Right up until I left for the gym, I was all like, “I don’t want to go to the gym. I’m too sore… It’s too hard… I can go tomorrow…” All these excuses were running through my head. But somehow, I managed to suck it up and get to the gym. And, of course, as soon as I was at the gym, I didn’t mind at all. In fact, I had a great workout!

This leads me to believe that when it comes to the gym, just showing up is 90% of the battle. Whatever excuses you’re telling yourself, if you can just ignore them long enough to actually make it to the gym, well then you’re home free.

This ties in with the well known phenomena of, “Your feelings follow your actions.” When it comes time to working on our goals, there’s always going to be times we don’t feel like doing it. Maybe it’s due to tiredness – I hear that! – or laziness or whatever. However, if we can manage to take action on our goals, then our feelings will eventually catch up to what we’re doing.

Like going to the gym. I had a million and one excuses for why I shouldn’t be going to the gym. Regardless, I went – then once I was there, my feelings had no choice but to say, “Well, here we are at the gym. I guess not going to the gym is out of the question. I might as well suck it up and accept it.” And lo and behold, I did. As soon as I hopped on the elliptical machine for my warmup, I started feeling good. As soon as I did my first set of squats, I started feeling better. And as soon as I finished my treadmill cooldown, I felt unbelievably good about myself.

So it is with goals. Whatever goals we have to do, the hardest part is always getting started. But as soon as we get started, our feelings have no choice but to accept what we’ve begun. Best of all, once we’re done our task, we’ll feel so much better about ourselves and what we’ve done.

This ‘feelings’ phenomena highlights the most important part of setting and achieving goals, which is to take action. The difference between doing nothing and doing something is infinitely vast. That’s the power of taking action! By taking action towards your goal, no matter how small, you’re infinitely better off than if you’d done nothing in the first place.

I don’t use that word lightly. Think about that – there’s an infinity of difference between doing something and doing nothing. That’s an unbelievably big difference.

So take action! Your feelings will follow you along and reward you afterwards.

November 18, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

