Milk and Cigarettes

Rambles about stuff I like.

A ramble about the future of this blog and stuff.

Oooh man am I sore. I had a session with a personal trainer yesterday and we went over all of my lifts. Pretty much all of my lifts were done poorly. For each lift we made a few adjustments, and man was it ever harder. Consequently, I’m super sore today. But in a good way!

I ended up buying 12 weeks of personal training. I’m super stoked about getting my lifts corrected and improving my overall fitness. Plus, having a trainer 3 times a week will keep me going to the gym regularly and motivated. However, it is pretty expensive! But I look at it as an investment in myself. And I know this is a great investment.

Aside from that, I’m definitely excited about working with a trainer. I imagine this excitement will last maybe a week, before all the grueling workouts start catching up with me.

Now, I’ve adjusted to waking up at 5:00am and I’ve got a good little routine going. Get up at 5:00 – make coffee – say my goal statements out loud – do 30 minutes of math – write down my goals – read a chapter from each of “Think and Grow Rich”, “How to Win Friends and Influence People” and “The 4-Hour Work Week” – write an entry in my journal – do a blog entry. This usually takes me about 2 hours and then I’m raring to go for the day.

Now though, I’ll have to work in PT time in the mornings. So on Monday, Wednesday and Friday, my routine will be something like – get up, make coffee, say my goal statements out loud, have a little something to eat, go to the gym… That will be an adjustment, but I’m determined to make the mornings the most productive part of my day. Plus, since I work at a University, I can tailor my schedule so that I only work on Tuesdays and Thursdays. 

Anyhoo, I’m thinking about creating my own website for goals, and possibly creating a couple more blogs to go with it. I like talking about goals, but posts about goals lend themselves to longer, more thoughtful posts. Plus, on this blog I’d rather ramble about assorted nerdery and video games and such. 

I think I’ll probably have a blog about TV, a blog called either “Rambleicious” or “Complainypants”, and then a website devoted towards goals and motivational stuff. On top of that, I’m looking towards creating goal-oriented and motivational software.

For example, I’m working on a program that will either permanently or temporarily block various websites throughout the day. I figure this would be a helpful thing for people who want to be productive, but are constantly distracted by internet surfing.

Myself, I know I became more productive once I blocked reddit on my pc. But if I’m done all my goals for the day, then a bit of redditing wouldn’t hurt. Then again, I’d be a lot better off if I spent my free time on worthwhile projects, rather than pointless looking at pictures of cute kittens.

I also sort of like the idea of creating a program which would block websites for the day, and give that away for free. But if you unblock a website before the specified time, you’d have to send me a dollar. That’s win-win, as I see it. Either you stay productive, or your lack of productivity will cost you money. (And I sort of think that lots of people would lack the necessary self-discipline to keep their favorite websites blocked all day, which would mean lots of money coming my way.)

Of course, people wont want to put their credit card number in a free program, so I’d need to put something legally binding in the terms and conditions. But no one reads those anyway, so I could really slip in some malicious stuff if I had a propensity towards evil.

Anyhoo, those are my thoughts for the day. Gotta ramble on…

November 21, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

