Milk and Cigarettes

Rambles about stuff I like.

Say you had a billion dollars… then what?

Oh man I love getting up early! I had my alarm set for 4:30 so I could hit snooze 4 times. But then I was up and out like a shot at 5:06. Made some coffee, said my goal statements out loud and got to work on my goals.

One thing I did differently today was not open up my internet browser first thing to check my e-mail. I think that I, along with absolutely everyone else, lose the most time on the internet doing trivial things that don’t help with their goals. So today, I’m going to forego the internet until I’ve done all my goals – except for a couple internet dependent things, like writing this blog post, and checking the weather before I head out.

Anyhoo, I was thinking the other day about all the fabulous wealth I’m going to attain. But then I started thinking, yeah, I may have over one hundred million dollars in the bank, but then what? What am I going to do after I’ve bought all the cool stuff I want to buy.

So here’s a goal exercise that I propose: say you had one BILLION dollars. That’s right, billion with a B – so effectively, you’ve got unlimited wealth. You’ve got all the money you’ll ever need. Ok, so you’ve got a billion dollars – then I have two questions for you:

  1. What are you going to buy?
  2. What are you going to do afterwards?

That first part is the most fun. If I had a billion dollars, what would I buy? Well, I’d buy a nice, big-ass house for starters. I’d buy this huge house and a big plot of land to go with it, so that every morning I’d wake up in my big house, in a nice big bed, with lots of covers – and a big window so I could see the sun rise every morning.

I’d have my own workout room, so that after I got up, I’d go work out for 60-90 minutes. Since it would be my own workout room, I’d have the music I want playing, and I’d have the tv set to a loop of inspirational videos – or heroic sports clips.

After my workout, I’d go shower off in my huge master bathroom. I’d have a big, two-person walk in shower, with heated floors, and a big counter with a couple sinks. Rows and rows of huge fluffy towels – do they make towel warmers? Heck, I’m rich – I’d have a dryer in the bathroom specifically for towels, so that after my shower I’d have a warm fluffy towel ready to go.

After my shower I’d get dressed for the day. I don’t really care about fashion, but since I’m rich, I’ll have a large selection of suits to put on. Or, if it’s winter, I’d just put on warm and woolly sweatpants.

Then I’d head down to the kitchen for some breakfast. Naturally, since I’m rich, I’d have a hot wife (or sex maid, same thing) making breakfast for me. My kitchen would be nice and big, with a professional style grill and fume hood for cooking – possibly a deep fryer – a big pantry stocked with lots of food. All the latest kitchen gear that my wife (or sex maid) would want.

Ok, so that’s a small sample of all the cool stuff I’d buy. But then what would I do all day? I’ve got a billion dollars, so I don’t need to rush into some goddamn office and deal with people all day. I’ve got the whole day to myself to do whatever I want.

I think when most people fantasize about winning the lottery, they think about all the stuff they want. Yeah, having neat stuff is neat – but what are you going to all day? I’ll tell ya, watching youtube videos and playing video games all day will get boring fast. Despite having fabulous wealth, you must also have a purpose. A mission.

Without a mission, all that wealth will be wasted. You’ll feel useless and bored without a reason to get up in the morning. You can play around on your wealthy toys for awhile, but that will get boring. You can travel the world for a long time. But eventually, that will get boring too.

Because what are you going to do? 

You’ve now got all the time in the world, how are you going to spend it? All that this wealth has earned you, really, is free time. You’re free to live without the hassles of an office job and worrying about car payments and all that. You’ve got no stress and tons of free time.

Now what?

Let me tell you – question 2 up above is WAY more important than question 1. If you really want to set goals for yourself and achieve what you want in life, it’s imperative that you answer question 2.

Because once you’ve answered question 2, and you’ve figured out what you’re going to do with all your free time, then I’ve got great news. You don’t need a billion dollars to do what you really want to do. If you know in your heart of hearts what you would do if you had all the money in the world, then you can make a plan to start doing what you really want to do today!

That’s the best part! You CAN do what you really want to do, even if you don’t have all that wealth. Because ultimately, it’s what we do everyday that matters, not what we own.

Figure out what you want to do, then figure out a way to do what you want to do today! It’s closer than you think!

November 25, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

