Milk and Cigarettes

Rambles about stuff I like.

A ramble about believing you can achieve your goals.

It’s sort of unbelievable how comfortable my bed is in the morning. I hit snooze a record 5 times this morning, because I didn’t want to stop being so cozy. There’s got to be an inverse relationship between temperature and bed coziness; that is, as temperature goes down, bed coziness goes up.

Actually, that’s almost certainly true. In the summer, when it’s stonking hot out, I hardly ever sleep in, because I’m likely covered in sweat and all gross. But when it’s cold out, I can spend all day in bed. It’s so warm and toasty. I’m a snug bug in a rug. Glorious.

Of course, once I get outta bed, put on some warm morning clothes and drink a cup of coffee, I’m raring to go. I suppose this says something for my morning routine, or maybe for my sleep patterns. It used to be that I was super sluggish in the morning – I’d wake up, grab some coffee and slump down in my chair in front of the internet, trying in vain to wake up.

Now, though, as the coffee is being made, I’ll say my goal statements out loud. Then with my first cup of coffee I’ll do 30 minutes of math. With my second cup of coffee, I’ll write out my goals in my goal book, write an entry in my journal, then read a chapter of “Think and Grow Rich” and “How to Win Friends and Influence People.” That usually takes a good 60 to 90 minutes, by which time the sun is rising and I’m ready for the day.

I suppose I could mention how beneficial it is to say your goal statements out loud. This comes directly from “Think and Grow Rich.”, which is a book who knows what it’s talking about.

We all have a subconscious mind, and whatever we repeat to our subconscious mind we accept as true. This is especially true in children. Is there any statement from your childhood which you internalized and accepted as true, even though there was no evidence for which to make this assertion? Things like, “Oh, you’ll never be good at math.” – “You’re terrible at singing!” – “You’re too ugly!” – Usually said by parents, teachers or even other students, who didn’t know any better and said so because they were having a bad day. Even casual statements like this, said in childhood, can have huge ramifications later on in life.

So it is with goal statements. If you get in the habit of saying to yourself every morning, “I believe in myself and my abilities and I’m not ever going to give up until I reach my goal.” Then pretty soon you’ll internalize this message and begin to act in this way! If you have a specific goal of, say, losing 20lbs, then you can start by saying to yourself every morning, “I will lose 20lbs by [this date] through a combination of diet and exercise. Until I reach my target weight, I will exercise 3 times a week for 45 minutes and every day I will follow a low-fat diet and stick to my caloric ceiling. I will never give up until I reach my goal and I know that as long as I follow my plans for diet and exercise every day to the best of my abilities, I will definitely achieve my goal!” 

Wow, say that to yourself every morning and night, and soon, as if by magic, you’ll start acting more in line with what you’re telling yourself.

Of course, this doesn’t work if you say it to yourself sarcastically, or without conviction. The first step to achieving any goal is BELIEVING you can achieve it!

Believing you can achieve your goal is simply the opposite of worrying that you can’t. When we worry, that’s believing that a negative outcome will occur despite having no evidence one way or the other. I’m not talking about, “Oh, I’m worried I’m going to fail this math test.”, after having not attended any classes and done no homework. Yeah, you’re likely going to fail in this case. But more like, “Oh, I’m worried no one will like my presentation.”, despite having worked on your presentation every day for the past month. You don’t know whether people will like it or not, you’re just making that negative assumption out of fear. You have no evidence one way or the other whether people will like it. A better default assumption is to assume that people will love your presentation!

Similarly, when it comes to achieving your goals, you need to start by believing you can! There’s no reason why you can’t. If you’ve got a solid plan to achieve your goal and the willingness to work everyday, then surely you can achieve anything! But first you must believe you can.

It is only after we believe we can do anything that we, in fact, can do it.

November 26, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

