Milk and Cigarettes

Rambles about stuff I like.

Being paid to do nothing

It’s 11:21 in the morning and I’m being paid to sit on my ass and surf the internet. It’s like I’m back to having a real, proper office job!

So the deal is, as a graduate TA, I have so many hours to fill during the term. Something like, 110hrs in total. Over the course of the term, I was a TA for 4 courses – which is fucking ridiculous. Whoever’s the grad director gave me 15-20 hours for 3 different classes and then a full 55 hours for another class. We’re supposed to TA 2 classes and have 55 hours per. Since I was split among 4 different courses, I went over my allotted hours. But there’s no real way to get those hours back, so I just have to bend over and take it.

But on top of all those shenanigans, I’m supposed to do 10 hours in the tutorial center over the term. This is typically 1 hr a week. (And the tutorial center is a big room where any students can drop in for math help.) Anyhoo, I traded my “during the term” hours with a buddy of mine for “exam session” hours. So for the next two weeks, I’m here basically all day on Tuesday & Thursday.

During the term, the tutorial room is usually packed with students who need help. But not today. Today, there are literally zero students here. There are 3 TA’s with nothing to do…. and I’m one of ’em.

So yeah – complaining about my job. Not too original. I’ll join the “hate my job” support group – It’s called “Everyone”, and we meet at the bar. *Shamelessly stolen from Carlin.*

Anyhoo… so it’s now verging on 11:30 and I’m here until 4:00. Oh well… at least it’s not a 12 hour shift back at the nerd center. I don’t mind helping others with math – the more math I do, the better I get at it – but it’s pretty dang boring when there’s no one here to help and not a heck of a lot to do.

Sooooo…. myeah.

I guess, later on today, I’m going to try and do a SnarkWatch blog entry. I’ve been watching a lot of Star Trek: The Next Generation (hereafter referred to as TNG) and it is laugh-out-loud funny. I’m still on the first season, which aired in 1987, and it’s friggin hysterical.

Everyone’s got big, poofy 80’s hair – except for the one black guy that’s got Jheri curls – and, aside from the masterful Patrick Stewart, who manages to deliver his lines with a believable gravitas, everyone else is an hysterical cartoon of a character.

I think I’ll wait until SnarkWatch to get into it more – I could go on and on and on about how funny these characters are. Stay tuned!

What else – ooh, the Sens are finally looking like a good team. They won last night in a shootout against the Filthydelphia Flyers and they play again tonight against the craptacular Buffalo Sabres. Hopefully I’ll be home by puck drop at 7:00.

Yeah! That’s the other fucking thing about shitty tutorial center hours – I’m done at 4:00, which is right about the time that Rush Hour starts and it takes an hour by car to get home. Normally, that’s a 10 minute journey. Literally an hour – no shit. There’s only 1 north-south corridor that can get me home and it’s jammed up from 4 to 6. Bleah.

Oh well, champagne problems, right? I should take heart from the fact that it’s a nice snowy day outside, and winter is here and I’m not being shot at by a bunch of dissidents or living under a horrible dictatorship like in America.

Think I’m kidding America? Stay tuned…

December 10, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

