Milk and Cigarettes

Rambles about stuff I like.

Super Sunday: A ramble about discipline and stuff about me and junk

It’s super Sunday! Although the Jesusians will argue that every Sunday is super Sunday with Jesus – but we all know that’s not true. It’s just a Sunday filled with guilt and itchy church pants.

Anyhoo – big game today! Broncos play the Seahawks! Like an expectant mother, I’m just hoping for a happy, healthy game. 

On the one hand, I’m sorta rooting for the Broncos. I like Peyton Manning, he’s been on a tear all year, and I’d like to see him win a couple more Lombardi trophies before he retires. On the other hand, I like the Seahawks – I like Russell Wilson and Marshawn Lynch, I like a good defensive team. Both Sidney Rice & Percy Harvin (who are injured) used to play for the Vikes. 

Regardless, let’s just hope for a game full of razzle dazzle and non-stop action! (And no sandbagging the game with “electrical failures”.)

What else – welp, I had a setback with my health last Monday, as I had to go to the hospital at night with abdominal pain. It was pretty severe – enough to get a morphine shot. But then the pain went away, so I went home. I got a follow-up ultrasound this Friday and I’ve been sorta discombobulated since then. Not to mention my prof wanted me to give a talk last Friday (two days ago) but then canceled the talk the night before. Hectic.

Anyhoo, looking forward to a good game tonight, then back on track tomorrow with goals and exercise. I can’t go back to my trainer at the gym until I get the all clear from my doctor on Friday – so I’ll do 30 minutes on the treadmill and some bodyweight exercises.

My whole sorta ‘deal’ now is to be practicing self-discipline everyday as much as I can. I have 5 self-disciplines I want to practice everyday.

  1. Get up self-discipline: Get up as soon as my alarm goes off. No hitting snooze or sleeping in. My bed is so unbelievably comfy, and I’d rather laze around for 2 or 3 hours. But the key to self-discipline is doing something you’d rather not do, so if I can start my day like that, all the better.
  2. Goals self-discipline: Develop the self-discipline to do all of my goals on my ToDo list before I surf the net, play video games, etc…
  3. Grooming self-discipline: I work mostly from home, and this can lead to getting lazy. So I want to make sure that everyday I have my shower, floss/brush/mouthwash my teeth, and wear proper clothes (no sweatpants) while I’m working.
  4. Exercise self-discipline: Do a baseline workout everyday – this means 30 minutes on the treadmill, 3 sets of pushups, bodyweight squats and deadlifts. This workout should be done anytime I’m not going to Goodlife to see my trainer. Obviously this week I’ll be taking it easy, but I think 30 minutes of walking and some basic movements shouldn’t kill me.
  5. Journal self-discipline: In order to stay motivated and keep track of my thoughts, I want to be writing in my journal everday.

So those are the major self-disciplines I’ll be working on. The best thing about self-discipline is that the more you practice it, the easier it gets. And the more self-discipline you can develop, the more self-esteem and self-confidence you develop as well. Only good things can come from working on self-discipline, so that’ll be my focus for the next little while.

But what’s this, fierce and passionate reader? You don’t care what’s going on in my life? That’s not why you’re reading my personal blog? Well why don’t I wrap up with some TV shenanigans.

I’ve been watching Community for the past couple of days. It’s pretty good. The writing is very clever, and it’s often meta and self-aware. But it suffers from predictable sit-comness, in that every handsome male gets feelings for every pretty female. Not to mention all the characters are rapidly becoming caricatures of themselves. (I think that trope is called Flanderization.) But there’s plenty of mental candy for the keen-eyed viewer, as many of the jokes are callbacks to previous episodes and there’s lots of Easter Eggs and such. Overall I’d say it’s a B+ – it’d get an A if they stopped shoe-horning relationship drama into every episode. But that’s my personal preference

February 2, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

