Milk and Cigarettes

Rambles about stuff I like.

A ramble about Firefox and then I don’t know what

So I’ve been pretty slacktacular with my writing lately. Time to get back into that habit. 

I’ll try writing in the morning, so I’ll either write about goals, or the weird dreams I had. I like writing. I like how the sound of certain words fit together. And writing can help me sort out my thoughts about touchy stuff.

Like, this firefox guy. I can’t remember his name, but he was the CEO of Mozilla and got fired (or stepped down due to pressure or whatever) because of his personal views. So Brendan Eich (is the guy’s name, Googled) donated some money from his account (i.e., not the company’s account) to an anti-gay marriage lobby. And based on this donation, GLTB groups put enormous pressure on Mozilla, and Eich got kicked out.

I think that’s pretty awful. What do his personal views have to do with running the company? We don’t even get the whole story here? What if Eich has no problem against gay people, but strongly believes marriage is between a man and a woman? Doesn’t Eich have the freedom to think what he likes? This is Orwellian thought police stuff.

(Also doesn’t help him that his last name is the first part of Eichmann… Yeesh.)

Anyhoo, that’s pretty outrageous. But stuff like that goes on all the time, we either just don’t pay attention or it doesn’t get any press. Moreover, everyone’s zombified by their cell phones. It’s like 1984 and Brave New World are two big waves of totalitarianism crashing together, and our civilization is riding the crest.

Mmmmf. Hot damn that’s a good… analogy? Metaphor? Simile? Which one has “like” before it. I’m pretty sure it’s a simile, because I remember a comedian making a joke about the song “Ironic” by Alanis Morrisette (who went to my school, where I read 1984 and Brave New World), about how because Alanis is using the words “like” or “as” in front of her sentences, it is in fact, not ironic, but a simile!

And by taking the 2 seconds to Google, we find: 

sim·i·le
ˈsiməlē/
noun
 
  1.  
1.
a figure of speech involving the comparison of one thing with another thing of a different kind, used to make a description more emphatic or vivid (e.g., as brave as a lioncrazy like a fox ).
So there ya have it. 
Have I ever mentioned how crazy good my memory is. I like to call myself “near-eidetic”, since I don’t have a photographic memory, but close to it. 
 
So yeah, back to writing and stuff. Hopefully every morning for 15 minutes, but we’ll see. 
 
Oh yeah, I’m toying with the idea of hosting my own blog and making entertainment posts and stuff. But since I’ve never been able to do that regularly on other blogs, I’ll start by just slamming them on here. Bingo bango, fats in the tango!
15 minutes, bitchyas!
April 10, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

