Milk and Cigarettes

Rambles about stuff I like.

Senators Ramble, and plenty of Game of Thrones spoilers.

Welp, it’s the last game of the season for the poor ol’ Ottawa Senators. Is this the last game as a Senator for Jazon Spezza? Only time will tell. To me, getting rid of Spezza would be foolish. He’s a PPG player and has been on fire in the 2nd half of the season. One could argue that the 1st half of the season he was getting over his surgery from last year. Same with Cowen, Michalek and Karlsson. I’d say this year was an aberration for the Sens, and next year should see them fighting for top spot in the Eastern conference. But I’m a big homer, so who knows? This is also assuming they manage to resign Hemsky & Michalek. 

On the bright side, Mark Stone looks pretty good on the 1st line with Turris and MacArthur. All the negatives I’ve heard about him over the years have been about his skating. Since one can learn to skate better, I’m pretty excited about Stone going forward. Better still is the fact that his nickname is “Stoner.” Awesome.

What else- oooh man, there’s a new Civ-style game coming out this year. Check out the trailer:

Oh man does that sound like an awesome game or what? It’s like Civilization in space, basically – so, Civilization with a twist! There’s gonna be a whole bunch of alien stuff and many-worlds interaction! Oooh doggies, looks good!

‘Course, I haven’t played a full game of Civilization 5 yet. I ‘unno if it’s the interface of the cities, but I find myself having a hard time getting my cities to do what I want. If I could play the hex-style Civ 5 with a Civ 4 city interface, I’d be a lot happier. I’m sure there’s mods I could download but eh… I’m not big into modding. So I’ll just keep complaining, I suppose.

It’s Sunday, so that means episode 2 of Game of Thrones is tonight! Woo! I might just keep up my regular habit of watching the show live. Usually I download my shows and half-ass watch them while also surfing the net. But GoT is so good, that it’s one of those rare shows where I actually have to pay attention to the whole thing. 

I’ve read the first 3 books, and this season is the 2nd half of book 3, so I know exactly what they’re gearing up for. (Well, I certainly think I do, it may happen a completely different way.) So at the end of book 3, Tyrion kills his father, Joffrey dies at his wedding and Sansa escapes with the help of Littlefinger. Those are the 3 main things I remember happening. So there’s still reason for me to watch – I can’t remember what happens to Bran, Jon Snow, Brienne, Melisandre and whatever King she’s banging – oh, no wait, whatsis name… Stannis, he goes North and helps out the Night’s Watch with the wildlings. Yeah… I think that’s still to happen. Then Jon Snow becomes commander. Man… it’s been a long time since I’ve read that book. I should read them all again… but, y’know, each book is like 1000 pages long, and only 300 pages of story.

I’ve got it so that I’m reading 2 books at a time; one fiction and one non-fiction. The current non-fic. book I’m reading is called, “Supermob”, about Russian-Jewish immigrants to Chicago and how they all become lawyers, hooked up with the Chicago mob, and then maneuvered their way into legitimate high society – but also how they managed to stay in the shadows for so long, despite being huge political and social movers and shakers. The current fiction book I’m reading is called, “I, Claudius”, a historical fiction book about Rome, and how this guy Claudius manages to come into power. He’s the grandson of Augustus Caesar, the ruler after Julius Caesar dies and Marc Antony gets killed or Cleopatra’d to death or whatever.

“I, Claudius” is really good. It’s written in such a way as to transport the reader back to Roman times. I’m really digging it so far. It’s got me hooked on Rome: Total War again, and has once again increased my thirst for world conquest. Luckily, I’m too lazy to try and come into political power, so I’ll content myself with taking over the world in various video games.

Except for Civ 5, of course. Can’t stand that city interface.

April 13, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

