Milk and Cigarettes

Rambles about stuff I like.

Caravan stoned deliverance

Happy 4/20! Let’s get stoned and eat Easter chocolate!

Well, I managed a brief moment of 4/20 observation last night, but didn’t indulge in the full “super-kief-bong-hit” tradition that 4/20 requires. I will have to save my liturgy for this weekend when my parents go away.

Anyhoo, I followed my Shogun 2:Total War plan – downloaded and started playing it last night. It’s a bit different than Rome:TW, but the idea’s the same: start with a small section of land and try to conquer the map. Here’s the map:

Image

In my game, I started as the Shimazu clan, on the South/Western island of Kyushu. I’m gradually consolidating power in this region before expanding my territorial advances into the neighboring island of Shikoku and the main island of Honshu. My plan is to develop a fearsome navy and rule the waters around my islands. With naval dominance, I can start stomping up Honshu island, raiding and pillaging as I go, conquering all the land south of the Imperial Court province.

I should mention that the book “Shogun” by James Clavell is one of my favorite novels of all time. Sure it’s not a ‘classic’, but it sure is a great story of 1700’s Japan and how their ancient samurai traditions clash with the arrival of the British protagonist. It’s a lot like, “The Last Samurai” only good.

Anyhoo, that’s why I’m digging this game so far. Also, the graphics are way better – and there’s probably lots of graphics mods I can install and stuff. I’ll stick with my Swapper Let’s Plays until I finish that game and get more familiarized with the interface of Shogun 2, but then I can see myself devoting 30+ hours to an uncompromisingly epic game of Shogun 2. Should be awesome!

Welp, what else? My brother got engaged last night, so congrats to him. With an upcoming wedding, that can only mean one thing, there’s going to be a bachelor party in my future! Drunken strippernanigans are coming my way. Woot!

In NHL Playoff news, St. Louis is up 2-0 in their series against Chicago. It was a crazy game last night. Chicago was down 2-1 going into the 3rd, then scored 2 quick goals 5 minutes into the 3rd. St. Louis was down a goal, they had pulled their goalie and there was less than 10 seconds left in the game when Tarasenko scored a magic shot from the point. Then they go and win it in overtime! Unreal.

I can’t find a .gif… so you’ll just have to content yourself with the myriad of highlight shows that exist all over the internet. That’s an even 15, happy Stonedsurrection day!

EDIT: Found the .gif! Munch down on some cheetos and enjoy!

tarasenko

 

 

April 20, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

