Milk and Cigarettes

Rambles about stuff I like.

Grammaramble

Well… here we are again, Mr. Blank Page. What’s that, you’ve brought your friend Mr. Block? Well… I’d like to see him try.

I’m doing this new thing where I do all my goals before I surf the internet. But that means I have no idea what the news is or what happened after I went to bed. Generally, this isn’t a big problem, but the playoffs are going on, man! I need to know the scores of the Western games!

As it happens, I managed to catch a bit of the highlights of the Chicago (prounounced Chick-a-go) and Minnesota game, and I see that the Blackhawks knocked off Minnersota [sic] in OT. Wow, I sure am looking forward to watching those highlights.

That’s the whole reason I’m doing this, so that I’m motivated to accomplish all my goals. This way, I don’t spend all day dilly-dallying on the internet, looking at pictures of kitties in boxes instead of trying to achieve something worthy. This is definitely a habit I want to develop. The more good habits I develop, the easier it will be for me to achieve my goals.

The other habit I’m trying to develop is not starting every other sentence with the word, “So.” I read somewhere about how it subcommunicates that I lack confidence – or that it throws off the reader, as it announces that the narrator is “developing a gap.” 

Why’s this? From what I can remember of the article I briefly skimmed over, we use the word “So” to link together ideas. (Aside: After a quick Googling, I see that it is indeed used as a conjuction.) Or we use it as an adverb, meaning, to a great extent. (i.e. He is so late!) 

Thus, by starting a sentence with “So”, I’m immediately implying I’m using the adverb and not as a conjunction. But what’s the verb in that case? Usually, I’ll say something like, “So, after I went … ” which implies the verb in this case is “I”. However, it’s not properly used, since we could alternatively read the sentence as “To a great extent, after I went…” This makes no sense. Thus, my initial assumption must be wrong, and I must be using “So” as a conjuction – but poorly used, since it’s at the start of a sentence.

So, I’m trying to stop saying “So” so much at the beginning of a sentence.

Heh. I’m chuckling at my own cleverness. 

Moving on. It looks like I’m coming to the end of my time with my trainer. This is a bit of a bummer, since I’m loving these workouts he’s putting me through, and it keeps me going to the gym at least 3 times a week. However, it is pretty crazy expensive. And I do plan on moving out in September (or close to it), so saving money’s a plus.

Ha – I still love starting sentences with “And” though. It’s almost the same thing, except “And” is only used as a conjunction. And I know it’s bad form, according to every English teacher I’ve ever had, but I consider it a stylistic choice, so I’m sticking with it. But “So” at a beginning of a sentence is right out.

Anyhoo – what else? I tell ya, I’m having a fun time learning the piano. I got this book, “Teach Yourself Piano Visually”, which allows me to immediately start playing pieces with both hands. I previously tried to learn piano by first learning all the scales – and although it was good practice and taught me my fingering, it was a pretty boring practice. The funny thing is, these piano songs aren’t all that catchy, but I still get one stuck in my head for the rest of the day after I practice. 

The only cure, more Dopesmoker.

May 14, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

