Milk and Cigarettes

Rambles about stuff I like.

Dreamy cartoon ramble,

I had that dream again – you know? The one where they fly through the window?

Note the three bulges

Note the three bulges

No, seriously. I had that dream again where I’m calling into work at my old job. This dream, I was late to work, so I was rushing from this party, trying to get to work and not be late. (I hate being late.)  Only this time, I remember saying to myself in the dream, “Wait a minute? Why am I rushing into work? I don’t work there anymore? Who cares if I’m late?” But then, instead of realizing that I was in a dream, and then transition from there into lucid dreaming – my brain said, “Oh, I can’t be late. It wouldn’t be fair to the guys who work there.” And that was enough for my brain to keep on going with this crazy stressful dream.

Also, you'll *really* have to pee for the last hour.

Also, you’ll *really* have to pee for the last hour.

My stupid brain. And this was a dream I had when I went back to bed at 6:00am. I woke up at 5:00 as usual, but I didn’t sleep well, so I was super tired! I went to bed at 9:00pm last night too. But I took some melatonin to help me on the way, and I think that probably messed with my sleep cycle. (My sleep cycle is crazy erratic yo!) Anyhoo, I’m getting stuff done today, but it’s not the SUPER EXTREME EFFICIENT MONDAY that I really wanted. So one of math, exercise or LP’s will suffer because of it. Oh well…

Perfect Strangers. AKA: The 80's Ethnic Odd Couple.

Perfect Strangers. AKA: The 80’s Ethnic Odd Couple.

I’ve got three new shows lined up to watch later on: Simpsons, Family Guy and Bobs Burgers. That’s my Sunday night cartoon lineup, with American Dad been moved to Monday nights. Of the three, I’m most looking forward to Bob’s Burgers. It’s easily the best of the three at the moment. After that would be Simpsons – even though it’s dipped in quality, Simpsons (HD) is pretty darn good. Least appealing is obviously Family Guy. It’s a shell of it’s former self, and most of the cutaway gags seem to fall flat.

New episode baby! Woo!

New episode baby! Woo!

I was thinking it over last night, and if I had to rank the Top 5 cartoon series of all time, my list would run:

1. Simpsons – The all time champ, no one will ever have the longevity or the relevance.

No one stops The Simpsons!

No one stops The Simpsons!

2. American Dad – The addition of Roger the Alien is so brilliant, because there is virtually no limit to what the writers can come up with, since he’s not limited by human physiology.

Not to mention the brilliant voice of Steve.

Not to mention the brilliant voice of Steve.

3. South Park – This could easily be switched with AD – or number 2 could be tied. South Park has been consitently hilarious, and as they get older, they’re taking more chances with their storytelling, which has been what made AD so great as well. Plus, Cartman is a phenomenal character.

And the videogame The Stick of Truth was aces!!!

And the videogame The Stick of Truth was aces!!!

4. Futurama – I mean, you could almost put Futurama at the number 3 position, with the above tied at number 2. Bender and Fry were two unbelievable characters – plus all the science-y gags I can appreciate.

Want to watch a show? Why not Zoidberg?

Want to watch a show? Why not Zoidberg?

5. Family Guy – When it first came out, it’s cutaway gags seemed pretty funny. And it was the first big show after The Simpsons and South Park. But it just seems so meh at the moment.

Laugh and cry.

Laugh and cry.

I should watch the FG series again to contemplate it’s longevity.

Current awesome cartoon shows are the aforementioned Bobs Burgers, and Rick and Morty had a phenomenal first season. But that’s my 15 minutes, and the plumber is here to fix my toilet so awaaaaay we go!

Top 5 potential

Top 5 potential

January 12, 2015 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

