Milk and Cigarettes

Rambles about stuff I like.

Superbowl recap and how Butler’s interception relates to goals.

Wow! What a friggin SuperBowl! Seattle is on the 1 yard line, has 1 timeout left, there’s 30 seconds left in the game and it’s 2nd and goal. With 3 seconds left on the play clock, they hut the ball and… THROW IT!! AND IT’S INTERCEPTED!!!

Holy crackers! What a hell of an ending. Seattle had made it down to the red-zone on a MIRACLE catch by Jermaine Kearse. They cut to Tom Brady’s face on the sideline when that happened, and his expression read, “I’m gonna get beaten by another impossible catch?”

After Kearse catches the ball, it’s 1st and 10 on about the 9 yard line. They hand off to Marshawn “Beast Mode” Lynch, and he gets them to the 1-yard line. 2nd and goal from the 1. There’s about 1:20 left in the game, and it’s a terrible place for Belichek to be in, because he’s only got 1 time out left (or he might’ve had 2), and then it’s about when do you use them. Then there’s under 5 seconds left in the play clock, and so that discussion about timeouts is moot, because here comes the snap and the predictable handoff to Lynch, who will presumably be running behind the fullback and barreling into the end zone, winning the game for Seattle.

But Seattle instead opts to throw-it. And the Rookie from outta nowhere Butler proceeds to intercept the ball. He’s gonna be a SuperBowl hero for a long time in New England.

An interesting thing about Butler. After the game ended, and everyone arose from their pizza and beer induced stupor, I saw a clip of Butler being interviewed. He said a couple of times how he visualized himself making a big play.

I found that an interesting statement. He “visualized” making a big play – that is precisely what people who talk about goals say to do. On the self-confidence formula by Napoleon Hill, it specifically states:

I realize the dominating thoughts of my mind will eventually reproduce themselves in outward, physical action and gradually transform themselves into physical reality; therefore, I will concentrate my thoughts for thirty minutes daily, upon the task of thinking of the person I intend to become, thereby creating in my mind a clear mental picture.

Sadly, when it comes to my own goals, I don’t do this. I rarely, if ever, visualize what I want to accomplish, or intend to become. I think that I should make that my habit to develop in February. In January, I developed the habit of waking up early. (In fact, I woke up today at 6:00am, despite going to bed late and setting my alarm for 7:00. I’d say that habit has stuck!) Thus, for February, I will focus on getting up early, then immediately doing my goals, and 30 minutes of visualization afterwards.

Sounds like a plan!

February 2, 2015 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

