Milk and Cigarettes

Rambles about stuff I like.

A ramble about stories – Parks and Rec’s related

Writing a thesis is sooooo boring. It’s overwhelming, I think – because there’s so much work to do. Right now, it seems like a mountain, so I’m going to focus everyday on chipping away at it. I’m going to try to break it up into a series of smaller tasks, then working everyday to complete one task. I think that’s the “chunking down” method that Brian Tracy talks about.

It’s just that faced with such a tedious task, thinking about completing the whole thing will slow me down, as I’ll get bogged down with the specifics and such. Instead, if I focus on completing little tasks everyday, I’ll get done a lot faster.

Anyhoo – what else is going on? I’m having trouble keeping a regular schedule. I felt tired this morning when I woke up, so I slept in until 7:30. I really think I need to focus on turning off the computer at 8:00 and going to bed. I stayed up late yesterday watching Parks & Rec’s (aside; OMG Parks and Rec’s is the greatest show ever!). Today I’m done my math for the day, done my piano – after this writing I’ll go do my workout, then maybe a quick Let’s Play – 30 minutes of reading and back to binge-watching P&R.

I ‘unno – binge-anything is probably bad for you. Especially when it’s such a waste of time as watching tv. But man, is that show ever great!

The reason why people like television, I’m guessing, is because people like stories. Everyone loves a good story. Why is that? I ‘unno – but anyone at a party who can tell a good story is always a hit.

On top of stories, people enjoy seeing relationships between characters develop. Well, most people, I would guess. If a character is well created, people want to know more about him. For example, look at Hannibal Lecter. In “The Silence of the Lambs”, Hannibal Lecter was onscreen for about 15 minutes. But because he was such an interesting character, Hopkins won the Oscar, and 3 more movies were made just so we could learn a bit more about Dr. Lecter. (Not to mention the TV show called “Hannibal.”)

And P&R is a character driven show. The show gets most of its humour from the interaction of the characters. Even though it’s a sit-com – it’s not really the situations that they get into that are funny, but the way each character handles what’s happening.

There’s also a spirit of hope about the show. I think that probably stems from the character of Leslie, but I just get a sense of optimism and happiness from the characters in the show. That’s refreshing! Most shows nowadays are cynical and morose. (I remember binge-watching the last season of Breaking Bad and just being so emotionally drained.)

Anyhoo, that’s a tight 15! Day’s almost over! Weekend’s almost here! Let’s go workout!

February 18, 2015 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

