Milk and Cigarettes

Rambles about stuff I like.

A ramble about goals and enjoying the moment

Here we go with another Friday funsies!

Well, as stated yesterday, I did end up doing my workout. So… hooray for me! And today’s leg day – which isn’t terribly thrilling, since it’s the hardest of the workouts – but I will save it for last and do it! Rrragh!

Psssssshhhhh – what to write about? Not much going on – it’s the weekend, but this whole week I’ve had off, so it’s been one long weekend to me. I managed to get up early today – and that was key to my productivity. I got a good jump to the day by getting up early. So I think I will probably go back to going to bed super-early, so I can get up super-early and get going. Nothing makes me feel better about myself then spending my time being productive and working on my goals.

Well, I ‘unno about that. Sometimes working on my goals is a chore. However, I always feel good about myself when I’m done. The key to goals, is to just tell yourself you’re going to do a little bit – and then get started. More often than not, you’ll do the whole thing.

Any job is simple enough if you break it down into tiny, manageable steps. It’s hard though – because we like to focus on the end result, and when there’s a mountain in front of you, you’re thinking, “I’ll never make it to the top!” Well then, don’t worry about making it to the top! Just worry about making it a little more up the mountain – as long as you keep going, then inch by inch, you will eventually get there.

Ohhh snap – I was just thinking about how this mountain metaphor is perfect for my PhD thesis. But then I just realized I made a mistake in today’s work. Crap! That means I’ll have to go back fix things. Ahhhh, squigglebottom!

But hey – it’s Friday. TGIF! I’m seeing a girl tonight – I’ve been seeing her for a couple weeks now. I really like her, and I’m pretty confident she likes me (I mean, who wouldn’t?!) – but man… My last long term relationship was… unhealthy. So I’m working through some of my own issues. As a result, I’m having a hard trouble calibrating how I’m supposed to act. All the blogs online talk about playing it cool and taking things casual. Well… i’m not cool! I’m super intense – and I hate being in a relationship where our status isn’t nailed down in explicit details. Naturally, this is not the way things work in the modern world – so I will just keep my feelings to myself and try and enjoy our time together.

That’s definitely one problem I have – enjoying the moment. For example, just hanging out with my friends and/or family, relaxing and talking. That’s fine for a little while – but after a couple hours, I’m like, “Ok. Talking is great, but goddamn I gotta go do something constructive!” I think ever since I’ve discovered goals, I realize how precious my time is – and I don’t generally want to waste it socializing when I could be doing something to help me reach my many goals.

Another example – on Sundays, I used to be able to plop myself down on the couch and watch football all day. Now, I will refrain from watching the NFL on tv – too many commercials! I’ll watch RedZone on the internet – but rest assured I will also be doing something else. (Mostly just surfing the internet.)

Anyhoo, I will do my best to enjoy my time out with this girl tonight. We’re going for tea – and then maybe some food, or we go back to her place or mine to watch a movie. Because it’s minus-fucking-30 outside and that’s perfect cozy snuggling weather.

Welp – that’s it for today! Hope you enjoyed the ramble… just typing randomly to fill up the last part of my 15 daily minutes of writing…. Any second now… Screw Flanders!

February 20, 2015 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

