Milk and Cigarettes

Rambles about stuff I like.

Waving a magic wand: my ultimate goals for the 5 pillars

Well, a bit of a bummer as my afternoon date cancelled on me. But I did manage to find a hook-up for tonight, so that’s a plus. One thing that I tend to forget is that dating is a process – a marathon, not a sprint. When my anxiety gets the better of me, I forget about that, and tend to go overboard with my texting and tinder. Consequently, I come off as needy and desperate. I’ll do much better once I learn to channel my sexual energy into my goals on a consistent basis.

Speaking of goals, I mentioned yesterday how I’d outline my goals and plans for my mini-goals. I think I’ll do that now. I’ve got the 5 pillars: Health, Love, Math, Fortune and Fame.

When it comes to goals, I must be purely selfish. I have to pick goals that *I* want to achieve, and not goals that other people want me to achieve. This is relatively easy for me to do, since I’ve had practice – but if you’re young and trying to live up to your parents ideals, then that’ll result in an unhappy life. I think the mindset should be, “Even if no one else knew I had achieved these goals, what goals would I want to achieve?” That is, what are the goals I want to achieve, no matter what anyone else might say.

The other thing about setting goals, is that you don’t worry about the “How to.” Just yet. I think too many people have a goal, but then immediately shout it down in their own mind. i.e., Someone will say, “I wish I owned the Dallas Cowboys.” but then immediately after thinking of that goal, they’ll say, “Ah, that’ll never happen.” Or something negative like that.

So what I’m going to do is called the “magic wand” technique. I’m going to pretend I have a magic wand, and when I wave it, whatever I want to come true will happen. In this fashion, I won’t get bogged down with the “how to’s” of attaining my goals. I’ll just lay out what I want in life. Later on I’ll figure out how to get it.

So, Health. If I could wave a magic wand and achieve my ideal Health goals, what would that look like?

Well, for starters, I had a kidney transplant when I was a kid, and that’s a major challenge in my life. So the first thing I would wish for would be my own genetic kidney. After that, I would want to be in peak physical condition, I would want clear and healthy skin, shiny white teeth with fresh, minty breath, I want to be able to fall asleep 5 minutes after I go to bed, and I want to wake up everyday with a positive attitude and bursting with energy.

Now, this is a good start – when it comes time to writing down my mini-goals, I would need to get more specific. But this gives me a good idea of what I want my perfect Health life to look like.

Next up, if I could wave a magic wand, what would my perfect Love life look like?

Well, I would definitely want to have a deep, emotional and physical connection with a young, beautiful, virgin girl, who’s dedicated to old fashioned values, motherhood and starting a family.

Funny, I didn’t know where that would end up as I was typing – I’m sort of shocked that I would want a woman who wanted to start a family. For a long time, I was convinced I would just be single for the rest of my life and that would be that. But, as I’ve learned, after ignoring my needs for so long, and dealing with these issues, I’m starting to learn what I truly want in life. And I think I can honestly say that, yes, I would like to be married and start a family.

Well, I ‘unno. It’s shocking for me to write that. Maybe it’s just because I’m in such a good mood today. Who knows? But, for now, that’ll be my ultimate Love goal.

Next up, Math. Easy peasy. I want to solve the twin prime conjecture and the Riemann hypothesis. I want to write the standard, undergraduate texts for algebra and calculus, and I want to be remembered as one of the greatest mathematicians of the 21st century.

The math goals will be tough. But luckily, I am developing good math habits so that everyday, I do a little bit more Math. In 30 years or so, I might be able to accomplish these.

Penultimately, Wealth. I want to own a 100 acre plot of arable land on which I can build my dream house. I want to have over $10,000,000 in the bank and earn over $100,000 a month by being my own boss and working from home.

Finally, Fame. I would love to be famous for being smart and funny. I think I could be a musician – I think I could earn a living doing stand-up comedy, and I would like to be world renowned as an intellectual and author. My fame goals are what I want to work on in my spare time.

So that’s a rough outline of my ultimate goals in each pillar. That’s the funnest part of goals, thinking about what you want. Now comes the tough part – writing out more specific goals, and then creating mini-goals that I must accomplish in order to achieve my ultimate goal. The final step is writing out a plan for the first mini-goal. And then that’s what I’ll do in the upcoming blog posts.

But that’s been about 15 minutes. Have an awesome Saturday!

March 21, 2015 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

