Milk and Cigarettes

Rambles about stuff I like.

A ramble about monthly goals, getting stuff done right away

I drove by her house today… sigh.

Meh – I was running an errand and passed by J2’s house on my way home. Had a twinge of regret, etc… but it went away pretty quick when I focused on my goals. I’m feeling much better and that I’ve moved on and stuff… but every so often now I’ll still feel regret about how things went down. But nevertheless, I’m moving forward, dealing with my issues, and working on my goals. Time will heal all wounds – and as long as I stick to my plan, I’ll eventually make that deep, emotional connection with someone that I desire.

But until then… let’s keep working on my goals.

And so how are we doing today? Today is a rushed day, because I TA a class tonight, so I’m on campus from about 5:00 to 8:00. But then I’ve got an 8:30 class to TA tomorrow, so I have to go right to bed when I get home. Sorta a bummer. But it’s the last evening class until I teach in May – more importantly, it’s the last 8:30 class tomorrow – and then it’s Tues/Thurs evenings from May until August.

I’m looking forward to teaching my class this summer. It’s a 1st year calculus course for Engineers – so I’m pretty stoked about that. The fact that they’re engineers means I can be a real hardass about the math, which is the way I like it. But that’s the way it should be – I don’t want bridges being built by people who can’t do basic calculus.

What else? Well, I’ve figured out my goals for the month of April, and they are as follows:

  • Health: Have 15.5% bodyfat by April 30th
  • Love: To have gone on 5 dates by April 30th
  • Math: To have 100 pages of the thesis done by April 30th
  • Fortune: To have saved $250 by April 30th
  • Fame: To have gone to amateur night at Yuk Yuk’s 4 times.

I think all those are pretty reasonable goals. The ones I’m most focused on are Health and Math. Health, because I would really like to get better diet habits. My workout habits are generally pretty strong – I get in between 3-5 workouts a week. In fact, for the month of March, I got in 18 workouts – that’s almost 60%, so 3 out of every 5 days. Pretty good. But I’d be doing a lot better if I could get my diet straightened out. I’ve lost a little weight and fat since the beginning of the year, but now I want to step it up.

And the thesis – well, I want to get that done as soon as possible, because I would very much like to be called Dr. Sarcasticus, and then I could get a professorship or post-doc somewhere. Not to mention I wouldn’t have to TA any more classes. (I’d be teaching them, but whatevs…) The key for the thesis is short, daily, steady progress. So I reckon that if I can write 4 pages a day, I’ll be well in line to be done by the end of the month. Better still, once I’ve written my 4 pages for the day, I can relax.

Because the thing about a thesis (or any paper, really) is that it’s a chore. All the exciting research has been done, and now it’s about writing it up in explicit, technical detail. This is a drag. So what I’m excited to do, is to get up every morning and get it done.

That’s the thing about goals – if you’ve got a goal to achieve, you’re going to have to do the work. Often, the work will be tedious, or not as fun as other things you could be doing. That’s why I like doing it first – get it done! Get it out of the way immediately! Then the rest of the day is mine.

That’s one reason why I like exercising in the morning. Although I feel great after every workout, it’s still tough work. So if I can get up and get my workout out of the way immediately, I feel a lot better about myself, and I’ll carry those good feelings with me for the rest of the day.

Anyhoo, that’s a tight 15. Speaking of workouts, I’m off to do mine! Happy April schmools!!

April 1, 2015 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

