Milk and Cigarettes

Rambles about stuff I like.

A 4/20 ramble about goals, and I’m not even stoned

Welp, the Sens are down 3-0 in their series against Montreal. It’s not looking good for them – next game is Wednesday, so we’ll see how that goes.

Anyhoo – what’s going on? Today’s 4/20 and I’m not even high yet! What kind of travesty is that! It will be officially 4:20pm in 7 minutes – oh well, I’ll get stoned later.

Had a date with J3 on Saturday. Took her out to dinner then went back to her place. It was good. I’m still not overinvesting my feelings or putting her in the girlfriend role – just taking my sweet time, and so far, my anxiety is a lot less than it was. So that’s good.

On the other hand, I had a date setup for Sunday – but I was so tired from staying up late with J3 that I cancelled on her. That’s probably not a great decision – I should be keeping my options open and dating other women. But I seem to be matching with girls on Tinder on a regular basis, so I’m not terribly concerned.

One thing I am getting better at is developing patience. I realize that it will take a long time to achieve my goals, so I will focus on getting the most out of every day, and working hard until I finish my goals.

The one thing I am getting frustrated with is my thesis. Near the end of my thesis there’s a long section on a thing called “number of solutions” – which is an application of my work. But it’s super messy, and not at all elegant like my principal theory. I think I will basically get everything done in my thesis except for the “number of solutions” part, and then do that last. It’s probably the most tricky.

The rest of the thesis is looking good. I’m at 116 pages or so. I’d say I’ve got a majority of the information down, now it’s just a matter of editing and making sure I’ve got enough references. I will still try my damnedest to get a rough copy done by May 1st – especially since I’ll have to start writing notes for my summer class, which will take a fair amount of time.

What else? Haven’t watched the new episode of GoT yet – that’ll be tonight. I have been watching Daredevil – the Netflix version, and it’s pretty good. It’s gritty and realistic, so I like it – despite the (alleged) comedic persona of Foggy. Also, the actor who plays Daredevil is Irish, and that accent slips through from time to time. But aside from that, it’s pretty good. I mean, hey, it’s television – something to do at the end of the day when all my goals are done.

Because, lemme tell ya, after my workout today, I’m feeling like I need some vegging out time. I switched up my routine so that I do heavy lifts (squats or deadlifts) on MWF and medium lifts (bench, bo rows, seated press) on Tu/Th. I like the idea of lifting 5 days a week, but it can be tiring. My schedule right now is to get up – take my time waking up, do my goals, drink coffee, then do my workout. Once that’s done, I get started on my math for the day. Then do my fun stuff afterwards (piano, writing, reading), then I’ve got the rest of the day to myself.

But I’m thinking I should do a little math before my workout – something like, half the math that I need to do that day. Because math is my primary struggle during the day (as writing a thesis is very tedious), so I feel I need to break it up into manageable chunks. Further, if I have a killer workout and I’m useless for the rest of the day, then at least I’ve done something.

As always, though, I’m trying to develop self-discipline. So instead, I think I should be more focused on getting my goals done for the day rather than figuring out easier ways to do it. Well, I ‘unno… there’s no law that says I can’t work smarter, not harder. We’ll see…

Anyhoo, that’s 15. Have a cannabis-a-riffic 4/20!

April 20, 2015 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

