Milk and Cigarettes

Rambles about stuff I like.

A lazy ramble about the same stuff I always ramble about

Another fabulous Friday is upon us! Sens play tonight, I’ve figured out a thing that was bugging me for my thesis, and I’m hooking up with J3 tomorrow. Life is good.

The only question that remains: what to write about?

I ‘unno… I’m getting pretty darn good at piano. I’ve only got one song left in my book to learn, then I can move onto a new book.

This book that I’m reading at the moment [ed: 100 years of solitude] is heartbreaking in so many different ways. The characters all seem to age but stay alive, and they each seem to take on a weird temperament that prevents them from achieving happiness. Well… I shouldn’t say that. Some characters appear to be happy – they’re loud, boisterous and gregarious, but maybe they’re just covering up for the loneliness they feel inside. The other thing is that I’m almost certain the story is some sort of parable and/or allegory – but I’m never good at picking up on those things. What I read is what I’m thinking happens in the book – and any sort of double meaning that the book is supposed to portray is lost on me.

Anyhoo… what else? I ‘unno… I’m satisfied with my dating issues with where they are. I’ll date J3 for the time being and see what happens. She’s into goals, so it may happen that she could be worth a long term investment – but I’m desperately trying not to think that far ahead. It is my nature to plan for the future – but one can’t plan for other people. With J2, I almost immediately started making long-term plans despite the fact that I didn’t know her very well. Hence, for J3, I plan to take my time to get to know her, make sure she’s fun to hang out with, and we’ll see if my anxiety manages itself. As it happens, my anxiety is pretty darn low when I’m with her – and especially when we’re apart, so I’d say that’s a pretty good sign. In any case, time will pass no matter what – just gotta keep working on my goals, day in, day out.

One thing I could be doing better is going to bed early. It takes me so long to fall asleep – usually an hour or more. If I went to bed earlier, I’d be able to get up around 8:00 and get going – I think I’d get more done that way. But I do like my alone time late at night – where I can smoke weed and play video games.

I’m quite sure my bedtime will regulate itself when I move back out on my own. When I was living on my own a couple years ago – I had a very solid routine, and I got 8 hours of sleep a night. But because I live with my parents, and because they’ve been subjected to 60 years of anti-cannabis propaganda, I’ve got to sneak around if I want to smoke a J. Such a bummer. In any case, I’ll be out on my own by the end of the year, and my sleep can get back to normal. In the meantime, I can enjoy sleeping in until 10:00 or so every morning, and just taking life easy.

That’s one thing that’ll reduce my anxiety – is just taking things easy. Like the hockey players say – don’t get too high, don’t get too low. Just try and enjoy my daily routine, and feel good about myself at the end of the day when I’ve got all my goals done.

Anyhoo – that’s a tight 15. Go Sens Go! Do or die baby! Wooo!

April 24, 2015 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

