Milk and Cigarettes

Rambles about stuff I like.

A spacey, lazy ramble about finishing my thesis

Oh man – two beers last night and my stomach is not at all happy today. I think I will try going no alcohol for May as a goal – just to see if I can.

Some sad news – my brother’s dog Mack (AKA: Honey Bunches) has a cancerous tumor on his ribs. Mack’s got to have an operation on Tuesday to get rid of it, and we’ll see how much the cancer has spread. So we’re all hoping Honey Bunches can make a full recovery after Tuesday.

It’s looking likely that I’ll skip a workout today. I ‘unno, maybe I will go do one right after this post. I’m feeling sorta bleah – but that probably means that’s the best time to go to the gym.

This thesis is starting to stress me out. I’ve been pretty good about doing 4 pages a day during the month of April – my thesis is 132 pages right now, in rough – but May 1st is coming up quick. I think I’ll have to pull a couple of long days tomorrow and Thursday in order to get it done.

See, what I’m thinking, since the rents are gone – is I roll myself a couple doobers, put my headphones on, load up all the albums of The Mars Volta, and then work on my thesis until I go to bed. In fact, I think that’s how I should be spending my nights from now on – instead of looking at pictures on the internet or playing Hearthstone, I’m thinking I should be spending a significant amount of time on my thesis.

One common problem with goals is that it’s easy to make it to 95% and then quit. The temptation to quit when you’re almost done is very strong. That’s why it’s important to finish something 100%.

Therefore, I think I should really start focusing in on my thesis. I’m very, VERY close to having a PhD and being called doctor, and probably getting a sweet professor gig somewhere. So I should really focus on spending the most time everyday working on this last 5% of my goal.

So that’s gonna be the plan. I’ll probably start that May 1st – so it’ll tie into my May monthly goals.

Oh right – today was gonna be about Game of Thrones. I spaced on that – I’ll do that tomorrow for Wicked Wednesday.

Yup – spacing out ’cause I smoked some cannbis – and it’s super nice out for a change, a bright sunny day. Short post.

Anyhoo, I think I’m gonna gut it out and go do a workout – then try and work on my thesis a little for the evening. That’s the plan.

EDIT: I did do a workout, and I feel much better as a result. I just realized that you can see when I workout through my Twitter feed on the right hand side of this blog. If you’re looking for inspiration to workout, I’d recommend trying Fitocracy. There’s something motivating about getting points for a workout, and the trying to beat that score next workout!

April 28, 2015 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

