Milk and Cigarettes

Rambles about stuff I like.

A ramble about the magic drink

Whoo – it smells like farts in here.

So I’ve got a cold – which is a bummer. Not so much a runny nose, but sore throat – and kind of a lump in my throat. Swallowing is difficult. But never fear, because I’ve got the ultimate cure for a sore throat and it’s called a magic drink. Ready for the recipe?

  • One tablespoon of apple cider vinegar
  • One tablespoon of honey

Mix the ingredients in hot water and drink it. The honey soothes the throat, and apple cider vinegar is medicine for white people. Whenever I get sick, I spend a majority of my day drinking magic drinks. Honestly, I get better so much faster, it’s amazing.

Anyhoo – tonight’s my first calculus class. I’ve got some notes ready and we’ll see how it goes. It’s calculus for Engineers – so I’m assuming most of the students are good at math. Because Engineers need to be good at math. I’m a bit concerned that my first lecture will be a bit easy – but better to start off easy than hard, that’s what I say. The first week is a basic review anyway – so we’ll go over sets, the structure of numbers, the laws of algebra, and then onto functions. There’s about 40 kids in the class, so this is my first real big class. I’m excited, because I get to be the whole show – it should be fun.

But in the meantime, Tuesdays (and I’m assuming Thursday’s as well) are a bit hectic. I’ll get up around 9, do goals until about 10 – then do math until 2:00, then piano, reading and writing and it’s time to go to class. Which means that if I’m going to exercise, I’ll have to do it late at night. Which is both good and bad – it’s good, because that’s a great way to fall asleep. But bad, because I want to do nothing but veg out once I get home from school. I think, because I’ve got a cold, I’ll be skipping the exercise today. I imagine, in the future, I’ll do the opposite – do some exercise as soon as I get up, then piano and the rest of it, so that hopefully I’m done everything by about 2:00pm, and then I can do math for the rest of the day until it’s time for class.

The funny thing is, I feel really bad about skipping a workout. I’ve tried to instill the habit of daily exercise, and for the most part I have – so when I have to skip a scheduled workout, I feel terribly guilty. I suppose I shouldn’t, because I’m sick – but I do. I guess this goes back to the idea that I need to be content with what I can accomplish during the day – and have patience, because I don’t get fit overnight. After all, exercise is a thing I plan on doing for the rest of my life – so one day off wont kill me. Although, I may do some cardio when I get home, we’ll see…

In the meantime – I’ve been binge-watching House MD. Oh man, I forgot how much I love House’s snarkiness – makes me want to be all snarky myself. Really, it’s a detective show – the whole thing is a modern takeoff on Sherlock Holmes – and boy oh boy do I love detective shows. In another life, I think I would’ve made an awesome police detective – there’s nothing better than figuring things out. Of course, I’m a mathematician, so I suppose that follows.

Although, I will say this about House – for all his brilliance, he doesn’t handle rejection very well. This is what I’ve gleamed from the first season – maybe later on he gets a bit more emotionally mature – but when it comes to any sort of relationship, it’s like he’s a 13-year old needy teenager. I think later on in the series these types of things will become more nuanced, but as it happens, it’s pretty clumsy the way the show handles House and his relationships.

Anyhoo – summer has arrived. It’s about 20 degrees out, the sun is shining, and I’ve had my windows open for the past week. Bring on the nice weather man! A nice, lazy summer awaits!

May 5, 2015 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

